Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 13, 1913 by 22 collegiate women at Howard University to promote academic excellence and provide assistance to those in need.

Please visit our National website for additional information at http://www.deltasigmatheta.org

Our Charter Members

Yolanda Avert, Barbara Brewton, Cherry Brewton, Velma Burden, Sue Hawks-Foster, Sheena L. Glover (deceased), Anne Harris, Diane Holland, Natanielle Little, Salena McBride, Valarie Luckey Merritt, Pauli Mullice, Dionne Polite, Jocelyn Poole, LeAnne Robinson, Joyce Simmons, Doris Tomblin 

Our Chapter History


On April 13, 2002, history was made for the Statesboro, Georgia community. Seventeen women were honored as charter members to the newly formed Statesboro Alumnae Chapter (SAC) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated. National Past President Dr. Paulette Walker, then Southern Regional Director, presided as the installing officer. Charter members were dressed in uninterrupted black adorned with violet corsages. Family, friends, the City of Statesboro officials, and local dignitaries were all present at the Bulloch County Commissioner’s Annex for the charter celebration. A reception followed immediately afterwards with an elephant shaped cake served to guests and friends.

The year of 2005 ignited the emergence of growth within the Statesboro Alumnae Chapter and that growth was compounded upon several times more in 2011 and 2013. College educated women continue to pursue our illustrious sisterhood and our chapter is continuously growing through the hard work and dedication of our members.